The table

Every EV route planner, every feature, in one table

10 products, 14 capabilities, no score and no winner. Sorted alphabetically, because we make one of them.

Updated 2 min read

Free-standing charging station beside a road in an Austrian alpine village
D-Kuru · CC BY-SA 4.0 · Wikimedia Commons

The table

CapabilityABRPApple MapsChargemapChargepriceDrive Charge Eat *ElectroverseGoogle MapsPlugShareTeslaZapmap
Plans a charging route●◐◐○●–●◐●●
Models the charging curve●––◐–○◐○●–
Adjusts for weather and temperature◐––○●○●○––
Accounts for elevation–––○●○●○––
Live charger availability◐–◐–◐●◐◐●●
Reads the car◐●––––◐–●–
Preconditions the battery–◐○○–○–○●○
Turn-by-turn navigation◐●–○●○●○●–
CarPlay or Android Auto◐◐––◐–◐–○◐
Pays for the charge○○●○○●○–◐●
Compares session prices––◐●○◐–○○◐
Food, restrooms and facilities◐◐–○●◐◐◐◐–
Driver check-ins and reviews◐○●–––◐●○–
Usable without paying●●●●○●●●●●

Key: ● Yes · ◐ Partly · ○ No · – Unverified. An asterisk marks our own app.

What the table cannot tell you

Whether the thing is pleasant to use. Whether the charger data is right in your country. Whether the subscription renews at a price you would have agreed to. A capability matrix is a filter for a shortlist, not a substitute for a fortnight of driving with one.

Prices and platforms

ProductPlatformsPriceCoverage
A Better RouteplannerWeb, iOS, Android, Android AutomotiveFree tier; Premium around €5 per month or €50 per yearWorldwide
Apple MapsiOS, CarPlayFreeVaries by manufacturer and market
ChargemapWeb, iOS, AndroidFree app; Chargemap Pass tiers, with paid tiers adding route planning and live availabilityEurope
ChargepriceWeb, iOS, AndroidFreeEurope
Drive Charge Eat (our own app)iOS 17+, CarPlay$4.99 per month or $39.99 per year; no free trialNot stated by the vendor. Example routes on the site span the US and several European countries, which is not the same as a market-availability claim.
Octopus ElectroverseiOS, AndroidFree to join; charging billed at network rates, stated as passed through without markupStates over 1,000,000 chargers and 950 charge point brands across 40 countries
Google MapsWeb, iOS, Android, Android Auto, Android AutomotiveFreeWorldwide, though EV features depend on vehicle support and market
PlugShareWeb, iOS, AndroidFreeWorldwide, strongest in North America
Tesla in-car navigationBuilt into the vehicleIncluded with the carTesla vehicles
ZapmapWeb, iOS, Android, in-car dashboardFree; Zapmap Premium adds discounts and removes ads, price not stated on the page checkedUnited Kingdom only; states 120,000+ chargers across 40 networks
Two electric cars, a hatchback and a saloon, parked side by side outdoors in Norway
Norway reached majority-electric new car sales earlier than anywhere else. Norsk Elbilforening · CC BY 2.5 · Wikimedia Commons